2022 Maryland Primary Election: Races to Watch in Prince George’s Co.

When voters in Prince George’s County vote this primary, they will be considering whether to give County Executive Angela Alsobrooks a second term and make their pick for a handful of county council seats that could change the direction of the 11 members. advice.

When voters in Prince George’s County cast their ballots in Maryland’s July 19 primary, they will be considering whether to give County Executive Angela Alsobrooks a second term and make their pick for a handful of council seats. county that could change the leadership of the 11-member council.

County Executive

Towards the end of her first term as county executive, Angela Alsobrooks remains popular and is widely considered a candidate for re-election. She attracted four challengers for the Democratic nomination.

“You have people running around who are convinced they can take out the county executive,” said William Ford, a reporter for the Washington Informer, which covers the county. “But when you have a million dollar war chest, it’s hard to beat.”

Alsobrooks, the former state attorney, won the Democratic primary four years ago with nearly 62% of the vote – and 99% in the general election in heavily Democratic Prince George County.

Alsobrooks has received praise for its handling of the COVID-19 pandemic, which has hit Prince George particularly hard, and has announced a slew of development projects in the county.

Yet there are concerns about an increase in crime, property taxes and the economy.

Speaking at a candidates’ forum in late June, Alsobrooks said tackling crime “is the biggest priority we should have right now.”

At the forum, Sherman Hardyan Air Force veteran and business owner, said he was running to restore trust and transparency in county government, and that more needed to be done to tackle violent crime.

Tonya sweatshirt, a consultant, focused on social justice and education. “We don’t take care of our schools. Many of them are overcrowded,” she said.

Leigh Bodden, a former NFL player who lives in Bowie, made leadership part of his campaign message. “You can throw money at anything, but if you don’t have good leadership then it’s not going to be great,” he said.

Bridges Billy W.a former employee of the school system, is also in the running.

Successfully disrupting will not be easy, said Diarra Robertson, associate professor of government at Bowie State University.

“When you’re talking about an incumbent, it’s really rare without a scandal or something of that nature that there’s an upheaval,” he said.

county council

Voters will also make many decisions regarding the county council. The 11-member council is made up of nine district seats and two general seats.

In four of the district seats, outgoing council members are resigning due to term limits and there are a number of newcomers vying for seats that could change the composition of the council.

“It could transform the whole board into what it is now,” Ford said.

The council courted controversy last year when a six-member majority passed a redrawn district boundary map that many saw as political gerrymandering and which was later thrown out by Maryland’s high court.

Depending on who comes out on top on July 19, the council could also see more of a leftward turn, creating a potential split with the county’s traditional political establishment.

“If that happens … a more left-wing turn, you might see some people in the county establishment scratching their heads wondering what we’re going to do in the world,” Ford said.

County Council as a whole: voters choose two

The two seats at large are currently held by Calvin Hawkinwho was first elected in 2018 and is now Chairman of the Board, and Mel Franklinwho has served on the board since 2010. He is running for his second term as a member of the board at large.

In addition, five other Democratic candidates are vying for the nomination. They are:

District 2

In District 2, which includes Adelphi, Chillum, Hyattsville and Mount Rainier, council member Deni Taveras, who has served on the council since 2014, is stepping down to run for state delegate.

Three Democrats are vying for his succession. They are:

District 3

In District 3, which includes College Park, Lanham, Glenn Dale and Woodlawn, council member Dannelle Glaros is serving a limited term.

Three Democratic candidates are in the running. They are:

  • Sia Finoformer legislative aide to Senator Nathaniel Exum
  • Eric C. Olsonformer member of the District 3 council from 2006 to 2014
  • Eve T. Shumanformer aide to Senator Chris Van Hollen

District 4

In District 4, which includes Bowie, Greenbelt and Upper Marlboro, council member Todd Turner has a term limit.

Four Democrats are vying for his succession.

District 6

In District 6, which includes District Heights, Largo, and the unincorporated portions of Bowie, Capitol Heights, and Upper Marlboro.

Derrick Leon Davis, who had held the seat since 2011 and was barred from running again due to term limits, resigned in early May. Johnathan Medlock, the former mayor of District Heights, was nominated to complete the term.

There are five Democrats vying to succeed him.

  • Wala Blegayattorney for the DC Nurses Association, host of the TV show “Chat with a Lawyer”
  • Barbara Holt StreeterDirector of Community Partnerships Prince George’s County Public Schools
  • Queen Belindaformer member of the Prince George’s County School Board
  • Dennis SmithDirector of Communications for Prince George’s County State’s Attorney Aisha Braveboy
  • Nakia R. WrightCEO of The Gathering at Forestville

District 7

In District 7, which includes Capitol Heights, Marlow Heights, Suitland and Temple Hills, councilman Rodney Streeter is seeking a second term. He drew one Republican challenger and two Democratic challengers, including Krystal Oriadha, who lost to Streeter by just 31 votes in 2018.


  • Gary Fallsretired from the DC Department of Corrections, unopposed candidate for the Republican nomination


District 8

District 8 includes Camp Springs, Clinton, Oxon Hill, and Temple Hills. Council member Edward Burroughs, a former board member of education, was elected to the seat in January in a special election.

He faces four Democratic challengers.

  • Tony Knottsformer state delegate and board member (2002-2010)
  • Dania Loftoncommunity activist, lawyer and health policy advocate
  • Jerry MathisReal estate agent
  • Vernon Wadebusiness owner and member of the Prince George’s County Climate Action Committee

District 9

In District 9, which includes Accokeek, Brandywine, Fort Washington and Upper Marlboro, Councilmember Sydney Harrison is seeking a second term.

He faces three Democratic challengers.

  • Lisa Burnammember of Progressive Maryland and Democratic Socialists of America
  • Ernest CanlasNavy Veteran
  • Dorian Sibedwo

(In District 1Council member Thomas Dernoga is running unopposed for re-election, and District 5Jolene Ivey is running unopposed.)

Comments are closed.